May Hexie Beginnings

Hello! I am Audrey at Glory Be Quilter. I just recently joined Hexagon Alley after finding a new found love in EPP hexies! This is how it all began…

I received a giveaway win at TGIFF from A Quilting Reader’s Garden by AngieN with hexies cut out of stiffer paper and a fat quarter of fabric. I had a recent head cold that made me tired where it made me feel like just sitting around.  Watching TV was not enough so I decided to try EPP with hexies.  I asked Angie for a bit of help and she directed my to a tutorial on line on You Tube. So this is what I have done since…


 
This one has the 3 Hexie flowers on a 12 1/2″ square of Pale Flesh Kona fabric.

 
This block I added leaves to the 3 hexies onto a white Kona fabric.

 
This is the newest addition I am working on.

So that is 7 Hexie flowers for May, which I think took me 6 hours. I love the portability of EPP with hexies! It adds another dimension to my piecing, just like Hawaiian quilting did for me too. I look forward to working on more in June! 

Audrey @ Glory Be Quilter




About dezertsuz

quilter, crazy quilter and stitcher
This entry was posted in Audrey@GloryBeQuilter. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to May Hexie Beginnings

  1. A Nudge says:

    Love these! They look so tropical.

  2. A Nudge says:

    Seven! Wow, you're moving right along. Tomorrow I start my third one.

  3. tubakk says:

    I understand that you're already hooked. And you'll see that this work will give you joy for the rest of your life. Welcome to our group!

  4. cq4fun says:

    Great story! I love that Angie is on here, too, to read it. =) You are making beautiful flowers, and I like the applique on Kona. What fun this will be to see blocks added.

  5. Audrey says:

    Thanks for all the nice comments! Thanks Angie for sending me my first batch of hexies and fat quarter to get started!

  6. Mommmmmm! says:

    Welcome to the group! 7 done and with a head cold – impressive!

  7. liniecat says:

    a lovely start to a pleasant obsession lol : )

Please leave a comment. We'd love to hear from you!

