FIRST VISIT TO HEXAGONIA

Here is my very first hexagon piece; all hand done (except for sewing binding and borders on of course). DH asked that I hang it in our living room as he really likes it ! 
 It doesn’t even have a name– way back in the 1980’s that I made this one. You can see where I picked it up a few years ago and had run out of that lovely pink for the pathways–I still like it!  ;–)))
 I had a kit that I used to take to a local lovely historic park overlooking the ocean and DH and I would sit….. and I would sew…. and he would watch the shipping with his binoculars under the trees.  Lovely memories –perhaps I should call it “Sea Flowers” and make a label….

Anyhoo..here is how my  current piece– Monet’s City is coming along:


I have all the center rows put together, but I would like to expand this piece by adding rosettes around it.  I will have to figure out a configuration that will fit–perhaps half-rings??
Anyone have any suggestions for me…???

And here is my little kit–right now being used for basting the French writing and water hexies that I have ironed (yesterday).  I will need to cut some more I am sure (you GO!BABY! lol).


(I got that little labeler for my Birthday this year from DH..) .Sooo, I have been quite busy on this one…Come and visit to see what else I am working on at my blog.  

I am truly happy to be a part of your group where I am seeing absolutely stunning hexagon quilts….hugs, Julierose, La Blageuse

About dezertsuz

quilter, crazy quilter and stitcher
This entry was posted in Sue J and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to FIRST VISIT TO HEXAGONIA

  1. tubakk says:

    I love to see your Monet's City. And you old hexie quilt is really sweet. Super that you found and finished it at last.

  2. Julierose says:

    Thanks Tubakk! I have to figure out how to add to it–medallion style…hugs, Julierose

  3. ann-theres says:

    hallo
    da kann ich nur noch wow sagen wunderschne Arbeiten
    liebe Grüße
    anna aus Germany (Bavaria)

  4. Diane says:

    Gorgeous! I kind of like that the pinks are different. I love the story too. Thanks for sharing!

  5. I love that your husband wants it hanging in the living room!

  6. A Nudge says:

    I shall name you Speedy Julie. How neat you already have one to hang. Still working on my first one.

  7. Love your hexie quilt … and that your hubby wants it hanging. I hope that one day I'll have my first hexie quilt hanging (it's still in progress – it's my road trip project).

  8. liniecat says:

    A really delightful quilt, with its own provenance where it rested till you came back to it : )

  9. Love your hexie projects!

Please leave a comment. We'd love to hear from you!

