Mariella from Cancun Mexico Here talking about Hexagons!

5b74c7bf-30a9-4faa-ab1b-a8b8a4a29283

Hey there!  This is me, Mariellajo from Cancun, Mexico.  I’m crazy about hexagons and find the process so very relaxing.  I’ve moved out of simply just amassing hexagons and started a project.   This project comes from this book:  ” Handfuls of Scraps” by Edyta Sitar.

30ff7f5c-be64-40a7-91dc-7134199ca71c

The finished product (if I do the whole project) will measure 70″ X 76″ approximately.

Then I found the New Hexagon Millefiore Quilt Along and couldn’t resist and here I’d like to ask for opinions.  I’m working and learning the finer art of fussy cutting but I made two center pieces and I can’t decide which to use

61598129-33c7-4ec2-9568-f28c3c09bf9c

Ok,  above this is the first choice and the first one I made and my thoughts are that this center blends better than my second center hexagon.  When I made it I wasn’t very happy with the block all by itself so I made a second center (below).

c1f60bf0-9ecb-47dd-ac0b-b999704c2cb7Above is the second center and individually I prefer this block but it jumps out more and isn’t so ‘blendy’, does it matter if it blends or not?  I’d love to hear your thoughts.  I do intend to go on and make the next round of hexagons to see where that takes me before I choose a center.  These are the January hexagons I’ve completed so far and in total there will be 37 hexagons to complete January’s Block.

Thanks in advance for any input!

Am I supposed to say something about myself in this post?  I think that was requested.  I’m from a quilting family but although I learned to sew at an early age I didn’t catch the quilting bug until I was in my 40’s.  It was on a trip back home after living in Mexico for several years that my mother got me started.  She gave me instructions for starting some crazy quilt blocks and then she gave me quilting books and some scraps of fabric.  Upon returning home to then Merida, Yucatan, Mexico I went nuts working on a string quilt that I completed from start to finish within a  month, working like a completely obsessed maniac!  I’ve just continued and continued sewing and learning the art of quilting.  I took tons of classes from http://www.quiltuniversity.com (there are no quilting shops down here) and then with my quilting pals down here in Mexico we’ve taught each other what we know and share our tools and scraps and just have a great time sewing together.  Now I’ve made cyber quilting friends and the fun just keeps coming!

About mariellajo

Obsessed Quilter at Large
This entry was posted in Mariella and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mariella from Cancun Mexico Here talking about Hexagons!

  1. dezertsuz says:

    Wow, I didn’t know you were learning and sharing that way. Honestly, it’s been a long time since I lived where there weren’t plenty of quilt shops … or at least ONE! Your top photo looks great. I love seeing that it is almost finished. Of the two centers, I personally like the first one better, but it’s really going to depend a lot on what you do with the next round, isn’t it? If there’s more pink in the later rounds, that will tone down that center. I like the subtlety of the first one, though. Kudos to you for doing that BOM. I looked at the first block that came out and it is a LOT of work! I love your fabric choices, though. Kind of looks sparkly!

  2. Hola, Mariella. I’m Mariangeles, but everyone calls me Angie. I learned a lot from books and tutorials on the NET and am now taking classes and workshops as I can. My guild is a great inspiration to me. Well, I like the second one as it reminds me of the center of a flower. Whichever you decide, the other would make a fabulous pillow on black.

  3. liniecat says:

    Your centre fabric is wonderful! I’m also on the New Hexagon wagon : )

  4. snowdropfairy4 says:

    I haven’t attempted fussy cutting yet and I think you did a fabulous job on both squares. I would also have a difficult time picking one!

Please leave a comment. We'd love to hear from you!

