A hexie medallion

On my design wall – the center of a baby quilt:

This is an antique rose star block I read about on Mary Huey’s blog. Click here to read about it.  I was so enchanted with it I bought the template set.  It is easier than I thought.  And it makes a big star – 20″ point to Point; 18″ side to side.  Check it out.  All one needs is one star to make a baby quilt.  Yes, I make smaller baby quilts – not crib quilts – baby quilts.  As a mom and grandma of two preemies, I’ve discovered that the 30- 36 inch quilts are much easier to use with newborns and under one year olds in bassinets and play pens, strollers or car seats, so that’s what I gift to new parents. For this hexie star I’m planning to put rows around it and eventually triangles with a finishing border. And since here in CA we have such hot summers, probably just fabric for the back instead of flannel.

This entry was posted in Angie in Socal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A hexie medallion

  1. dezertsuz says:

    What amazes me about this is that it’s an antique and it looks so up-to-date today!

Please leave a comment. We'd love to hear from you!

