Hexathons!

Is anyone else doing these blocks from Barbara Brackman? Here is the latest one, #22, Hyde Park.

Barbara doesn’t tag or categorize, so the only way to really locate them easily is to start with her post listing on the side. Scroll down to the bottom and look on the right sidebar. Click on 2016, and then April. The first post listed there (which is actually the last April post, as these go from bottom to top) is the introduction. Then in May, you will start seeing the posts. All of them have Hexathon in the title, so that makes it a little easier to find them.

Yay, #4 finished – Box Hill:

4boxhill

#5, Upton, basted and ready to stitch quickly.

5uptona

Hexathon #5 was the first one in June, so I’m really way behind, but I’m taking it at my own pace. Just in case you hadn’t figured that out! Some are easier than others, some quite complicated. Several have more than one possible look, depending on how you color them. I’m enjoying my slow stitching of them. And I absolutely LOVE the glue method of basting IF, and only if, I’m using the Bohin glue pen. I tried regular glue sticks and they hold the fabric on the cardboard pieces WAY too hard, so you have to almost shred it to get it off. The Bohin is quite easy to peel away from.

If you want to start, and don’t want to cut your own pieces, which I found tricky on the very first block, you can look at my post here to find out which Paper Pieces to order for the first six blocks. Those pieces will be needed for other blocks, too, so you aren’t paying for pieces for just one block when you buy them.

About dezertsuz

quilter, crazy quilter and stitcher
This entry was posted in Desertsky and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hexathons!

  1. anudge says:

    I’m saving them! Just don’t have time right now. Maybe when I finish with the Splendid Sampler blocks, I’ll get to them.

Please leave a comment. We'd love to hear from you!

